Pao de Acucar

Assignment 3: 7x7, Major Studio 1

Last but not the least is the seventh natural wonder, the harbor of Rio de Janeiro. The harbor was discovered in 1502, when Portugese explorer Goncalo Coelho and his crew arrived at the harbor thinking it to be an entrance to an enormous river. So they named it ‘Rio de Janeiro’ or ‘January River’. But it was actually a harbor, surrounded by huge, oddly-shaped mountains with a lopsided peak of a bare granite standing more than 1000m tall. The Portugese called it ‘Pao de Acucar’ or ‘sugarloaf’.

Since the Pao de Acucar is older than the statue of Christ the Redeemer, I decided to make it the base for my work.

IMG_20150910_005527

To recreate a feel of the same, I came up with the options of painting it on a canvas, using origami to create something similar or create the effect of granite on paper and fold it into a cone. But to try something new, I took up origami.

So after a lot of research and videos, I understood how to make 3D triangles in origami.

IMG_20150910_005514

And after creating a few mountains of multiple sizes, I set them up against blue paper that I used to create a feel of the ocean and the sky. I even cut out a small section of yellow paper to show the little township at the base of the mountains.

IMG_20150910_005156

The large white cone resembles the Pao de Acucar. I kept it in a distinct shade to differentiate it from the rest of the mountain range. And in this manner, I had my very own prototype of the Rio harbor.

References:

  • ‘The Harbor At Rio De Janeiro’, accessed Sept 9 2015, http://www.unmuseum.org/7wonders/rio.htm
  • ‘Make An Origami Pyramid’, accessed Sept 9 2015, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FaXqIoeIjak

 

